Noise-Arch – Cassette-Era Download Archive

Some of you many already know about this but I just found out. Takes a little time for news to get to the swamp. The news is famous for steering clear of The Ancient Miasma. On a personal note, it’s a huge bonus for me because I prefer even the mp3 over the trendy cassette revival that’s going on these days. I know a lot of you weren’t around during the heyday of cassette trading, and it was cool, but the format shouldn’t be an object of worship. If you knew how many copies of Piece of Mind and Physical by Olivia Newton-John I had to buy because the tape got destroyed, then you know what I’m talking about. Then again, my copy of the Bad Brains cassette lasted for decades. What can I say? I’m usually enamored of inanimate objects. Either that or I pity them. Anyway, the following link will take you to where you need to go to cleanse yourself of that fetish you have.

“this website is a collection of underground / independantly [sic] released cassette tapes from the days when the audio cassette was the standard method of music sharing, generally the mid eighties through early nineties.

material represented includes tape experimentation, industrial, avant-garde, indy, rock, diy, subvertainment and auto-hypnotic materials… most of what you are about to hear is rather difficult to file under any one category, and thus has not been.”

My commentary on the cassette as a format took the form of a recording project called The Splice Girls. All of those tapes are long gone, and you know why? They were, like a Tinguely sculpture, designed to self-destruct. Whether I treated the tapes chemically to achieve the literal audio effect of disintegration, tied them to bicycle wheel spokes and drug [sic] them around the streets, excessively spliced them or symbolically marinated them in psilocybin broth, the darned things just never seemed to stand the test of time. I actually managed to keep one recording called The Kindness of Ezekiel, which I uploaded to Soundcloud, but even it seems to have disappeared. The tape was housed in the glass of a Baptist church window I threw a rock through one night. Inspiration! It started out alluring enough for the static noise crowd, full of mechanical loops and “unidentifiable sounds,” but it was really just a document of an insane Southern preacher cut up and reconstructed for the general good. But I ramble. As a salute to what truly was a great time in networking artists, I’ll post If, Bwana.

About DECAYKE

I join words and break notes.
This entry was posted in "Noise, Art, Music, Sound Art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.