A Few Words On The Upcoming Complete Issue Of DECAYKE

I’ve rattled through several publishing strategies for DECAYKE, some of which I’ve discussed briefly here in the past. Well, after trial and error it seems that the most productive and practical way is to publish highlights – posts on artists or topics that serve the overall aesthetic concerns of DECAYKE – in between the full-blown issues. If you’re a long-time reader, which, since we’ve only been doing this a little over a year you probably aren’t, but if you are, you know that at some point in the future I plan on releasing DECAYKE as a handmade art book, complete with all the interviews, novel excerpts and, indeed, all of the content herein, along with an compilation LP of the musicians and sound artists I feature and/or interview and a DVD of, hopefully, exclusive films by the filmmakers we will have worked with at the webzine. I dunno when this will be accomplished. Like a lot of people, I’m on the losing end of this economy. No worries, I’m not going to blast capitalism right now, just saying that the dream of publishing the physical corollary remains just that presently. There have been times when, due to depression or plain old borderline misanthropy, I’ve almost shut this thing down. For whatever reason, I haven’t. I’ve never thought I have needed to compulsively write, but I find myself doing it most of the time, so maybe I do. As an aside, for those of you who know about the book contract, yes, the novel is coming along nicely, but it has evolved over the few drafts I’ve finished.

So, in the upcoming issue, as it stands now, I have interviews on tap with politically-oriented sound artist Mattin, veteran sound explorer and artist Scott Foust of Idea Fire Company, rock and roll degenerator and Mattin collaborator, Billy Bao and filmmaker, painter, photographer and creator of the Remodernist Manifesto, Jesse Richards. There are always surprises along the way as we put together whole issues, so I’m sure there’ll be more to gander at for ya. The way things work around here, we don’t have a deadline for publication date of the proper issue, but until then, enjoy the posts. If you’re interested in having your material reviewed, observed, contemplated, run over by one of those big steamrollers with enormous metal spikes on the roller wheel, or you like to write (and well) about what we like here, then check out the about page and contact us.

– The mgmt.

DECAYKE

Hear Ye, Hear Ye

About DECAYKE

I join words and break notes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.