Next Issue of DECAYKE – Decline, Decay, Dilapidation and The New Age Underground Debunked

It looks as if the John Shirley interview I did for DECAYKE #2 (Rosemary Mader came up with a title for it, but I won’t reveal that yet) won’t be out until around April, so that means I’ll probably publish the next cluster of content to coincide with that. It gives me time to review the completed material I have further and to do the interview with Helga Fassonaki (Yek Koo and Metal Rouge) which is imminent. She just made a move from the west to east coast, so she’s busy getting set up in Jersey. I’m pretty excited about that. Love Song For the Dead C (you can also get that at FUSETRONwas, along with the Decimus collection of records, one of my favorites from 2012.

It also gives me time to work on another essay about new age music in the “underground.” You can call it whatever you like, but banal harmonies and synths paired with bad melodies makes a combo platter of shit, and a combo platter of shit by any other name would still smell like poop. Come on kids. New Age garbage doesn’t have any place in the underground. In that essay I’ll explain some obvious and some not-so-obvious reasons as to why.

I think I’ve mentioned it before, but the Shirley interview did get moved over to Michael Moorcock’s New World’s. We’re hoping to get it a bit larger readership right out of the gate because we spent a lot of time on it. It covers three books, but the questions range from his thoughts on consciousness to possible scenarios that could give rise to fascism and why a true dystopian state is likely. I lived in the future for two months in preparation for that interview and being dislocated in time, particularly in the future, can mangle your compass.

So, thus far, since it’s primarily me doing this, it’s looking like DECAYKE (yes, the name changed – see earlier post) is turning out to be a quarterly. However, with the amount of content planned for the next issue, it makes senses that it’s so. And if you didn’t know, I’d love to be able to publish a hard copy annually of all the year’s preceding content and package it with a DVD of film, music, photography and writing, plus whatever other content is produced. The Rabbit Hutch is planned to be an ongoing series of commentary on poverty and living arrangements in the 21st C., so be on the lookout for those. And I’m looking for relevant comics, so if you think you got something in keeping with the overall aesthetic of DECAYKE contact me via email address listed on the About Page.

And speaking of aesthetics, there’s also a forthcoming declaration of The Aesthetics of Dilapidation that contextualizes my objection to a lot of music being created that’s branded as “underground” these days.

So that’s the update as of the last day of January, 2013. Stare at some Asger Jorn. It’s healthy.

The time for art is over.

This entry was posted in Absurd, Anti-Art, Comics, Cyberpunk, Decayke, Duckter Yezno, John Shirley and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.